HomeШоуRelated VideosMore From: Beyond The Trailer

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty Movie Review 2013 : Beyond The Trailer

359 ratings | 24544 views
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty movie review! Beyond The Trailer host Grace Randolph shares her review today for this 2013 Ben Stiller movie! http://bit.ly/subscribeBTT The Secret Life of Walter Mitty Movie Review. Beyond The Trailer host Grace Randolph gives you her own review aka reaction to The Secret Life of Walter Mitty starring Ben Stiller and Kristen Wiig! Should you see the full movie? Enjoy The Secret Life of Walter Mitty in 2013, and make Beyond The Trailer your first stop for movie news, trailer and review on YouTube today! Interact with host & creator Grace Randolph! Facebook: http://bit.ly/GraceOnFacebook Twitter: http://bit.ly/GraceOnTwitter
Category: Шоу
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (181)
Amit Studies (6 days ago)
Do natural popular self-development program that designed by well known motivator like Fivmanifest System really work and if so, how effective are they? I've noticed numerous amazing things about this popular law of attraction system that created by popular motivator.
Oscar Molina (25 days ago)
Uhm.. Sure reviews can be subjective but.. Your reasons are far from what the movie is trying to say.
Oscar Molina (25 days ago)
"It's not deep enough" Excuse me? This movie is not even supposed to be a comedy.
brown abr (5 months ago)
What is the best product or brand to discover the complete secrets to happiness, health, and success? I read loads of good reviews on the net about how Mofedest Miracle will help you understanding the complete secrets to happiness, health, and success. Has anybody tested out this popular manifesting and law of attraction program that created by well known motivator?
deepKaraoke 123 (10 months ago)
What is Mofedest Miracle and how does it work? I hear most people discover see some improvements in their life especially financially with this popular law of attraction program that designed by popular motivator.
sathivel chandran (11 months ago)
What is the best way to know the complete secrets to happiness, health, and success? I read loads of great opinions on the net about how exactly Mofedest Miracle can assist you understanding the true secrets laws of attraction. Has anybody tried this popular personal development course that created by popular motivator?
Raja Usman Ali (1 year ago)
What do you think of knowing the complete secrets to happiness, health, and success with Mofedest Miracle? I see a lot of people keep on talking about Mofedest Miracle.
David Guy (1 year ago)
been reading some of the comments below. i'm relieved to find that, of the ones i read (with one exception), they are all positive opinions of the movie. Stiller is perfect for the lead role. he strongly conveys the loneliness of being an ordinary man. ok, a couple of characters are cartoony, but it serves the story. my only quibble is that there isn't enough madcap humour - after the scene with the dog at the beginning, i was hoping to see more craziness. i found the film very moving. very well done, Ben Stiller!
David Guy (1 year ago)
i've seen this twice, and plan to see it again. i love it, it's got a lot of heart. as a Brit, i don't recognise the product being placed, so that doesn't bother me (i actually thought it was made-up for the movie...)
Eve Canas (2 years ago)
2:58 The review for the film starts here, the rest is a Ben Stiller/history recap that adds nothing to the review. This movie is not a comedy - one would expect it to be because Ben Stiller is in it, but it's not and it really relatable for people who have the same tendency of living inside their heads and imagining wild situations to escape the monotony of day to day life. Yes, the daydream sequences feel really weird and out of place, but that's how daydreaming works! I'm pretty sure no one willingly daydreams about doing the taxes over daydreaming about defeating a villain before escaping a Michael Bay-esque explosion by diving out of a skyscraper or something x'D Personally the message of the film, added to the magnificent cinematography and soundtrack really struck a chord for me, becoming one of my favourite films.
Israel García (2 years ago)
THIS PEOPLE DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT! THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES OF THIS GENRE, A UNIQUE PIECE OF ART! SHUT UP
Eddy W (2 years ago)
is this a movie review or a short history of Ben Stiller?
DJG11 (2 years ago)
Your review is totally off. The movie was one of the best mixtures of reality and fantasy. It really shows the human psyche of the majority of people. The comedy relief in this movie is absolutely hilarious. And Family Guy - wth! - no comparison (animation verses special effect). My biggest problem with this horrible review of the movie is the reviewer's apparent lack of appreciation for good clean humor.
eleven38 (2 years ago)
shes a well known dummy amongst movie reviewers. she liked ghostbusters2016 ffs
Sammy (2 years ago)
Her bra is ridiculous
Sammy (2 years ago)
What kind of bra is that ?
Hospitab1e Nation (3 years ago)
Wow I cannot believe this film is listed as a comedy, it shouldn't be.
Justin Street (3 years ago)
You suck at reviewing !
bid0 (4 years ago)
Recently saw this movie and must say, I don't believe this movie was trying to be anything other than what it was: for example, to compare it to Family Guy... Might as well compare water to fire. The fight scene was supposed to mimic The Matrix, not Peter vs. Chicken. Stiller's character WAS SUPPOSED to be boring, unsure of himself, lost in his momentary delusions. Also, Stiller's character was never aspiring to be Sean Penn's character, he found himself along the way. Overall, this was a decent film. My only gripe was the ridiculousness of a few of the characters. Mitty's sister and Adam Scott's character were so exaggerated that it was distracting.
Connor Morris (4 years ago)
you got it wrong, this is by no means a comedy
Brian Jimenez (4 years ago)
Well then lady you mis understood the whole concept of the movie.
outmytravhouse (4 years ago)
Honest;y, I loved this movie.. Really, I don't think this movie was supposed to be a comedy. The movie had some very good points and the motto was very deep. Of course, this movie wasn't really about comedy. It had some funny moments, but that's really it. This movie had something that I could relate to. Walter Mitty is a forgettable guy, and you see that in the beginning of the movie. Throughout the movie, you see him gain more courage and get stronger as a character. I really liked that about this movie. If you look at this movie expecting to see a comedy, then that's not what you're going to get. You're going to get a heart-warming film with some comedic elements. Go back to the movie and watch it with new eyes and then upload a video on it. I'm sure you will think differently about it.
Heru Rishardana (4 years ago)
I've seen the movie and it's actually pretty good. It's not trying to be the next Citizen Kane but it has some funny parts, some beautiful shots of places, and some uplifting scenes. 
Melanie Grass (4 years ago)
Oh for gods sake the secret life of Walter Mitty was not supposed to be a comaddie it was supposed to be an inspiring feel good movie and don't compare it to family guy that's like comparing Nutella to Pepper and the fantasy parts were meant to push him to get his life to become interesting and adventurous  
outmytravhouse (4 years ago)
Thank God I'm not the only one who realized it.... You made my day.
Max Holland (4 years ago)
"IT'S NOT A PORPOISE!! IT'S NOT A PORPOISE!!" I actually loved the film.
NME10E (4 years ago)
I feel you are completely wrong, you wanted stupid, vulgar funny (Seth) in a movie that was soul filled, inspiring and thought provoking. You keep comparing Ben Stiller and his comedy to others but don't address in depth why you think this movie is plain. I wonder how you would perceive a Wes Anderson film, possibly dull, plain and outdated. Don't let this poor review discourage you from viewing this beautiful film
guille040690 (4 years ago)
it's funny how most of the reviewers practically hate this movie, people who have seen lots of movie, look the movies in such a coold way, I mean, now that I study a got little time to watch a lot of movie, and when I wached this movie, I was mind blown, for me at least, it was one of the greatest movie of the year, and you know why; because I watched the movie, I didn't watch the guys who acted at this movie, I didn't care who the director was or who was doing the main character, I watch movies with the mentality that am gonna enjoy the movie, but most of the reviewers lost this, they only want to see the bad thing (or better say the supposedly bad things), and while doing that, they lost the chance to really enjoy the movie... That was my opinion, so screw the people who didn't like the movie, AM LOVING IT! lml
WouterNL (4 years ago)
You didn't get this movie at all..of course not everybody would agree this is a gem of a movie, but you've missed the whole point of the movie. The fact that you trow around Ben Stillers biography doesn't make you a good reviewer and besides nobody is waiting for it. Can we click away, yes we can but you should be able to take some critisism. The opinions about this movie are divided. Most I know think it's a genius movie but hey, that's because they are my friends haha.  The next sentence might be confronting for some people, but heck, I am still gonna say it. People that find this movie boring have a boring life. The people who go out there and enjoy life as it is can relate to this movie much better.  So people if you think this is boring, take a good look at your life and read between the lines. Go out there and enjoy! 
thedoorsforever256 (4 years ago)
This is my favorite movie, but I can definitely see why people don't like it. Its intended audience is very specific.
mattclarknyc (4 years ago)
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty was a boring snoozefest. Grace nailed it.
Kevor Studios (4 years ago)
My review of this video: 0:00-2:58....I didnt ask for a documentary of Ben Stillers life...46.9% of this video is you talking about Ben Stiller making it to hollywood. Perhaps you should rename this from "...Mitty Movie review" to "....half ben stillers life, half movie review". Now, though I don't agree with your review at all, I will not bash your opinion. Your opinion is your opinion and my goal isnt to change that....Though I disagree with you in nearly everyway.
Jack Borden (5 years ago)
this is a terrible review
Jack Borden (5 years ago)
Critics worrying too much about what is popular. The movie was good.
Adam Kerans (5 years ago)
gotta tell you Gracie, i think that you got it wrong with this one. I was moved after watching this movie. And thats a rare thing these days. It was visually amazing, very well acted & emotional & deep. Still did himself proud. Not to mention a killer soundtrack. i suggest you watch it again. Think you missed the emotion.
Adam Kerans (4 years ago)
Loving the show still Gracie, keep up the good work! Peace out from Ireland :-)
theLupeXperience (5 years ago)
Sorry for the rude comments from people ... Grace imho TSLOWM was a beautiful movie, my mouth is still wide open ... Wow! What a story! It was charming without being a fairy tale, dramatic without being melodramatic, it had surreal elements to it great shots. It's a triumph and Ben Stiller should be proud. It's one of my top movies of the year!
Giancarlo Olracnaig (5 years ago)
Wtf is this woman talking about. wow. Keep mentioning "Comedy" Wow my mind is blown.
Z_Colo (5 years ago)
wow. much wow. wow.
chescrowel (5 years ago)
I'd like to review your review and it wouldn't be good.
Andy Pierce (5 years ago)
I respect your opinion but I have to disagree with you. Ben Stiller wasn't watered down. I think if anything he was able to portray a complex character of wanting to aspire to greatness when by the end of the movie he did not have to aspire because he was already someone who was great because he saw the world in a way people don't see anymore. And the Sean Penn's character saw that. And I think that in itself is a beautiful moment in the movie.
mndjw11 (5 years ago)
Your tone is condescending and you completely missed the point of an amazing movie. I rate this review 0/10.
Jacob (5 years ago)
mmmm ok you have your opinion shit tits i thought it was great.fucking uplifting none of the less all actors well chosen and well acted. *cough* bitch probably searched secret life of walter mitty on wikipedia
Snorlax02 (5 years ago)
TL:DR I disagree with Grace. I give this movie a 9/10. I will buy it when it comes out on Google Play/Itunes. Dear Grace, I respectfully disagree with you on several points.  The comedic moments weren't meant to be edgy or pushing the envelope.  They were more reserved, which reflected the tone of the protagonist. An actor like Jim Carey or Seth MacFarlane seem too aggressive for a character who's apparently done nothing with their life, in my opinion. The product placement was barely noticeable to me, I was caught up in the amazing visuals and the development of the protagonist.  The cinnabun moment was funny. I agree that Sean Penn had some of the best moments in the film, however, calling Ben Stiller's character a watered down version of Sean Penn's seems overly negative than what was required.  Ben Stiller's character is still on the journey of self discovery, while Sean Penn's character knew exactly who he was and what he was doing.  The difference between them should exist.  I still enjoy the research you do on the movies during the start of each review, however, I feel your reviews tend to have a negative skewing that makes it difficult to agree with when I actually see the film.  I enjoyed this film immensely along with many other films that you did not enjoy a great deal.  I understand that it is your job to critique each film but I cannot help but feel that you have raised your standards too high.  I am not saying that this film is bad, but that unless a film is perfect, you will say that you it is not a good movie.  As a fan, this is disheartening and I have slowly watched less and less of your work.  I hope you do not feel like this is an attack on you.  Thank you for all your hard work.
SollyVlogs (5 years ago)
I personally really enjoyed it. But that's the problem, it will only appeal to a certain group of people. The humour was just as I liked it, well thought out. But I agree, sadly today's humour is going in a different direction that I would wish, but that's just life I guess.
theSneakySasquatch (5 years ago)
Bottom line grace, I honestly believe that you missed the entire point of this film. It's smart, it's funny, it's VERY deep, well acted, and it's very heartwarming. And if you can't see it as such that's a big loss on your part, ESPECIALLY considering the responsibility weighted with a movie review. I cannot call you a poor reviewer, I've watched enough of you to know that's not true, but this is certainly a poor review...gosh that family guy comparison was the most ludicrous thing I've heard come out of a reviewers mouth in ages. Honestly. I'll have to take anything from this channel with a big grain of salt from here on out.
theSneakySasquatch (5 years ago)
I COMPLETELY disagree in almost every way. This a fantastic movie, this is meant to be an inspirational, real world charm kind of film. It stays down the earth and genuine and isn't really trying to be edgy, and I feel that the humor directly represents the goals and aspirations of the movie (which is NOT to be a comedy). It's an inspirational dramedy. Also it mixes with a certain fantasy element using the visuals which keeps the lightheartedness of real life daydreams and such in tact. All the daydream sequences really reminded me of Scott pilgrim vs the world honestly, and I felt the humor to oftentimes be in that same vein. The comparison to family guy I felt was way off course, and completely missing the whole point of the film. Honestly the whole "it's a watered down comedy that's living in the past, and can't keep up with family guy," just made this whole channel look stupid and ignorant. It's a real movie, it's not meant to shock you, or stream waterfalls if tears from your eyes. It's heartfelt, fun, and genuine about people and pursuing living a life where you experience things that require getting out if your comfort zone.
slightlygrouchy (5 years ago)
There are a ton of problems with this review: First of all, none of the comedians Grace names are "movie comedians", hence to blame Stiller for not being like them is absurd. This is a film not a stand-up routine. Secondly, the Secret Life of Walter Mitty is most definitely not a comedy and to see it as such means missing what it is, which brings me to my last point. It is film about self-discovery, nothing more and nothing less. And it does have a lot of depth to it. But you have to look for it.
Miguel Arteaga (5 years ago)
I don't understand where everyone thinks this is a comedy. Just because it has funny moments and a funny leading man doesn't mean it is a straight up comedy.
Makayla kovar (5 years ago)
Ma'am you couldn't have said a more offensive argument to this movie, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty is a heartfelt film that is reaching out to the viewer to tell a phenomanal story! And to even suggest Seth Mcfarline as a replacement is the worst comment throughout the entire video.. As a critic you could not ever make a more false accusation to this film and I deffinately believe that Ben Stiller will acheive an oscar sue to his outstading directing and acting. Oh and in the last video where you mentioned his limes disease is just low especially for someone that is willing to share this on the internet ! You should really apologize for the lack of intalect to pick up the story line as well as offending the director/ main actor in the film. Just saying lady, GET YOUR LIFE TOGETHER !!!!!
Timothy Yeung (5 years ago)
This Movie is just amazing
Jacob (5 years ago)
Grace seriously. what movie were you watching? . . . . I watched it last night, it was fucking amazing!  and i think Stiller did a great job portraying Walter Mitty, but to suggest Seth Mcfarlene as a better option is just . . . fucking . . . terrible. Though this was originally written as a comedy, half way through the movie, anyone with half a brain would classify this in a category far from Comedy.     kill yourself.   (_)================D
Martin Korster (5 years ago)
Hot generation if that is you on the photo (the specimen wearing glasses), ben stiller would really appreciate it if you do not see this movie
birdpoop210 (5 years ago)
"Its not deep enough and its not funny enough" kind of like you, amiright??????
Avengedstar1 (5 years ago)
this is the best film I have ever seen. This movie speaks to an audience that is so under appreciated and hidden that it was so touching to finally see a movie that speaks to us
MRCHRIS94ify (5 years ago)
I thought it was really good. Uplifting
Vintage Mixer (5 years ago)
Nice one. I wont be watching it. 
Vintage Mixer (4 years ago)
+Max Holland Actually i did end up watching it and it wasn't bad. 
Max Holland (4 years ago)
What? Don't avoid it just because of her. Watch it for yourself. I personally loved the film.
ryokomayuka (5 years ago)
It was a wonderful movie.  I love it.  Not watered down in the least.  Full of heart and meaning and funny.
ibraheem al-ali (5 years ago)
is saw it last night its fucking amazing.
blowe46 (5 years ago)
You know a review is useless when a comparison is made with this film to "Family Guy"
Nasir Uddin (5 years ago)
I think you are full of shit......I watched the trailer and there was something magical in it.....it was like having an epiphany....... 
thefatboyjr (5 years ago)
Oh, you watched the trailer? Obviously Grace didn't watch the trailer and knows nothing about the film. 
bpresley08 (5 years ago)
Seth is a genius, but his humor would not fit this film at all.
Katie Howell (5 years ago)
I might also add that I do like Family Guy and Seth... And Vulgar humor, just not for this movie.
Katie Howell (5 years ago)
I disagree. Not everything has to include "edgy" comedy. There is a time and place for vulgar humor. If I wanted Family Guy humor I'd watch Family Guy. There is a thing called subtlety. Who cares about product placement? As a viewer I wouldn't even think about it. And as far as I'm concerned, this movie is about the human spirit. Seth would have been so obnoxious in this movie. Sorry, but I'm still seeing it.
Michael Dwyer (5 years ago)
The meaning of the movie "the secret life of Walter Mitty" is about an ordinary every day dreamer, Trying to break free of this colony life we all live.. I think Stiller is a fantastic pick for this role. Also very excited to see this cut lose imagination gripping film. Since we all have dreams and day dream every chance we get. If you want something different, It's up to you to change it!..
Solarstar10 (5 years ago)
I couldn't disagree with this review more. I love Seth Mcfarlane but his type of humour should be nowhere near this film. Ben stiller is perfect for the role in every possible way.
Megan Krajewski (5 years ago)
James Thurber, who wrote the original short story "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty", was a comedy writer, and wrote this as a comedy.
slightlygrouchy (5 years ago)
Thurber was not a "comedy writer". He was a humorist which is something completely different. Furthermore, the original short story is pretty dark, full of irony and most definitely not a comedy. Also, Steve Conrad, the movie's screenwriter, changed the story so substantially that the film bear only a very faint resemblance to it.
Jordan Smart (5 years ago)
He was a comedy writer but the short story isn't particularly a comedy. It's a bit funny but I wouldn't say that it classifies it as a comedy
Larry Harris (5 years ago)
I thought this was a perfect movie. Just too perfect.
Sandres (5 years ago)
Watch the third one, it gives you a…. betterer idea of what the movie is like, ha! :)
94ejack (5 years ago)
She does great research.
Account12345 (5 years ago)
What's the name if the song in the trailer
erald153 (5 years ago)
Stop stuttering and shut up... From the trailer it looks like a gr8 movie. Its inspirational. To keep things short I like it.
roachmasta (5 years ago)
if i like the 2nd an 3rd trailers would i like the film
roachmasta (5 years ago)
im really dissapointed but for the sake of my faith in humanity ill go see it anyway and tell myself its good
Collin Taylor (5 years ago)
Review starts at 2:58
MrWhat11the (5 years ago)
You are so fucking annoying.
thehot1911 (5 years ago)
You are a fucking terrible reviewer, are you kidding me talking about family guy Seth is funny in his own way, but he is not the type of actor needed for a part like this. You probably would have suggested Jackie chan for the part that Audrey Hepburn played in breakfast at Tiffany's following your logic ha ha I'm sorry, but I couldn't disagree with you more
Josh Morla (5 years ago)
How does one do a review of movie that is not out
yaloolah42 (5 years ago)
Well, the original movie (starring Danny Kaye) was a comedy too.
Toby Hines (5 years ago)
Love the trailer and the song used. I'll see this one on Bluray
MariusIoannesP (5 years ago)
Seth McFarlane's "Walter Mitty" would have been ridiculous! In the bad way!
MariusIoannesP (5 years ago)
"Deep" is the last thing I'd say to describe Seth McFarlane. The jokes in his shows have no depth. They're just incredibly shallow.
Jake Harrington (5 years ago)
SETH MACFARLANE AS WALTER MITTY? GENIUS!
George Comerci (5 years ago)
In my opinion, the trailer looked very rushed and hard to follow. It's true, it'll definately be a feast for the eyes in terms of cinematography, but it just looks bland to me. If it gets PHOENOMONAL reviews, I suppose I'll see.....guess we'll just have to wait and see
Daniel Catallo (5 years ago)
I'm a little confused, did Stiller write Dr Hollingshead completely out of the film? Boris Karloff reinvented his career with that role displaying comic timing that no one knew he had. The only actor that play that part is Patton Oswalt but he doesn't have the stature.
Daniel Catallo (5 years ago)
An update was need of a very good film. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty came out the same year as It's a Wonderful Life. Danny Kaye was good but Boris Karloff was the real star of that film.
Angel Jason (5 years ago)
Thank you so much for the link I found her answer.
SKellingJACK154 (5 years ago)
4:48 even worse than Man of Steel's product placement at IHOP and 7 Eleven?
The man can not direct. Let us hope he learns and moves on.
georginaq (5 years ago)
Question: Do you think San Diego Comic Con is better than NYCC? It just seems to me that SDCC had a lot more to offer than NYCC, in terms of celebrities, and shows and it seems like more exclusives are provided too. Thanks Grace!
Dung Nguyen (5 years ago)
I find the trailer to this movie kind of dull. Maybe it's the slow motion or the music but this is not a movie I would want to see. The trailer just turns me off.
ElSijo100 (5 years ago)
I wouldn't like McFarlane as an actor OR a director (or a writer!) on a Walter Mitty kind of movie.
gle nnzorz2 (5 years ago)
sweet
lordfuture1 (5 years ago)
Seth M as a dir. Not an actor right? That's 2 bad about this movie I was really looking forward to it. I thought it was entertaining as far as the trailers concerned. Oh well I'll look for it on Netflix or DVD. This movie was closer to a drama not a comedy. That's what I got from the trailer anyway.
lordfuture1 (5 years ago)
Great review as always
BarleydawgReviews (5 years ago)
The product placement in Man of Steel was abysmal
Angel Jason (5 years ago)
Link please. I cant find it after 2 hours. I found the last Audience reactions video but not the one where she explains why. Or can you tell us the reason?
Anthony Q. (5 years ago)
Sweet! I really like Night at the Museum. Can't wait for the 3rd film.
Angel Jason (5 years ago)
I noticed Grace is not going to theaters anymore and intrview ppl about the movies. any reason why?
lolz i rmemebr the first movie i saw from stiller was meet the parents and theres something about mary awesome that Sean Penn made a cameo appearance ,I know theres the sequel to dumb and dummer 2 not sure if grace did a trailer review for that yet if it ever comes out see ya!
Joseph Chadd (5 years ago)
I hope Ben gets at least an Oscar Nomination.
Marcus Gradington (5 years ago)
Ouch!!grace ouch!!!....
Brenna Uyeda (5 years ago)
When you have time, is it possible that you can review the new trailer for Out of the Furnace that came out recently, Grace? I'm surprised that Walter Mitty wasn't that favorable to you because the shots looked wonderful, but then again, the plot you described didn't seem that interesting. Thanks for the review.
TheKevin1980 (5 years ago)
I love hating you! that's why im subscribed, to listen your argument-lack opinion. Different opinions are a good thing.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.